Rountine and Faking

We are creatures of habit. Very few of us are spontaneous every single day, and even if we were that becomes a “habit”.

Habit~ “A settled or regular tendency or practice, esp. one that is hard to give.”(reference)

The last few weeks I haven’t posted anything, not that I haven’t kept notes about things that I want to write or bits of “epiphanies” that come to mind, I just haven’t forced myself to create the habit, I haven’t made blogging/journal-ing enough of a priority so that it sticks long enough for it to become a habit. I’ve found things that are a habit, like watching Hulu before and/or after work, checking emails, or just being lazy in general, are things that are easy to do so making them habit is obviously easy. Now you’re all probably thinking to yourselves, “Duh, why are you wasting time thinking about this?” Well lets be honest, how many of us think of our habits and then really work at changing them or even think about the process of changing them?

Very, very, very few my friends.

I like to think things through like a math problem, step by step so that I don’t miss things, so that fewer things go wrong. Like a math student I do miss things so please speak up if you notice my thoughts have gaps.

So my most recent thought was about my habits and how to change them. These past three weeks I’ve been working on making my eating habits better, getting myself back to a place where I expect myself to exercise in some way, and when I don’t because of a good reason I find a way to make it up. My habits aren’t too far down the lane for me to change, for many it’s hard to change that pack of cigarettes a day, compared to my working at getting up at 5:30 every week day morning when I’m not sick. I have it so easy.

It’s not just about doing it until it sticks, it’s your frame of mind while you do things until they stick. Action is only half of the equation. You have to have an actual thought and feeling towards what you’re doing in order for it to stick long term, feeling and emotion make things “personal” for a lack of a better term. When I start running I hate it so much, I hate it because I don’t feel the benefit right away. If anything I feel worse, my joints hurt, I’m hot, I don’t feel like I’ve done hardly anything, and worst of all I stink. I hate being stinky. Then I get home, I take a shower, and I have the best night sleep I’ve had since my last run, and it all makes up for the terrible, “stinkiness” of it all. The very next time I got for a run, I really think about the mechanics of my body; how the muscles feel and are pulling, how smoothly my joints rotate, and how amazing the human body is in general. I force myself to smile, then because I am smiling, even though I know I honestly don’t like running, I end up rather enjoying myself.

Granted the first time I ever tried running this method really didn’t work for at least two to three weeks, but when it did I found myself making it a competition, a game, to see how I could push myself. Then I started to see results, my muscles got stronger, I got faster, and my body slowly started thinning out. Sadly I let go of my goals and my new found habits a lot faster than I gained them and I got sick, then winter hit and because up here in the North it’s really wet and cold in the winter I landed myself back at square one.

So now that Spring has come again, or rather is coming again, I now have the tools to get those habits back and because I had them once before not too long ago, it will be easier than the first time to get them back. So while I work to get them back I will force myself into the routine and fake it until I make it real.

3 thoughts on “Rountine and Faking

  1. Who am I?
    I am your constant companion. I am your greatest helper or heaviest burden.
    I will push you onward or drag you down
    to failure. I am completely at your command.
    Half the things you do you might just as
    well turn over to me and I will be able to do
    them quickly and correctly.

    I am easily managed–you must merely
    be firm with me. Show me exactly how you
    want something done and after a few lessons
    I will do it automatically. I am the
    servant of all great individuals and, alas, of
    all failures, as well. Those who are great I
    have made great. Those who are failures,
    I have made failures.

    I am not a machine, though I work
    with all the precision of a machine plus
    the intelligence of a human. You may run
    me for a profit or run me for ruin–it
    makes no difference to me.
    Take me, train me, be firm with me,
    and I will place the world at your feet. Be
    easy with me and I will destroy you.

    Who am I?

    I am habit

    Your article reminded me of this poem

    Like

Leave a Reply

